The American Heritage Center Announces the Winners of Wyoming History Day 2022

Mark DeLap
Posted 5/25/22

local students winners at History Day

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

The American Heritage Center Announces the Winners of Wyoming History Day 2022


WHEATLAND – Many students from Wheatland came away with awards at the annual Wyoming History Day competition that was held at the University of Wyoming April 25.

Wyoming History Day (WHD), a proud affiliate of National History Day (NHD), is a year-long educational program that culminates into the national contest every June. WHD, administered by the American Heritage Center (AHC) in partnership with the Wyoming State Historical Society, occurs every year in late April or early May.

National History Day engages students in grades 6-12 in the process of discovery and interpretation of historical topics. Students produce dramatic performances, imaginative exhibits, multimedia documentaries, and informative papers based on research related to an annual theme. The projects are then presented and evaluated at the local, state, and national competitions! 

Cameron Green, Wyoming State History Day Coordinator, said, “Wyoming History Day is a program that encourages students to explore and experience topics in history that they usually would not have the ability to study. The program provides students the ability to make choices in their education, while teaching them lifelong critical thinking and analytical skills."

Over 100 students from across the state of Wyoming came to participate in the in-person return of Wyoming History Day. Students in Wyoming History Day participated in yearlong research projects based on the annual National History Day theme -- Debate and Diplomacy in History: Successes, Failures, and Consequences. First and second place winners from Wyoming History Day move on to the National History Day competition.

Additionally, Wyoming History Day gave away $11,800.00 in cash prizes and sponsorships that were generously sponsored by the American Heritage Center, Wyoming State Historical Society, the Stepans Family, Wyoming Humanities, Wyoming State Bar, Wyoming State Library, Wyoming Archaeology Society, Wyoming Association of Professional Archaeologist, the Jim Gatchell Memorial Museum, UW American Studies Department, Jacques Laramie Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, National Society of Colonial Dames in Wyoming, Wyoming Outdoor Council, UW Modern and Classical Languages Department, Brigida Blasi, Elizabeth Kuntz, and Ginny Kilander.

Placement Winners in categories where Wheatland students won awards:

Junior Division

Category Winners (Place, Project Title, Student Name(s), School Name)

Group Documentary      

First – “The Roots of the Civil War,” Bradin Ewen, Charles Fink, and Jack Pharaoh, Greybull Middle School

Second – “Cesar Chavez,” Camila Acuna, Sherlyn Diaz-Rios, and Imelda Mendez, Greybull Middle School

Third – “Not A Drop To Spare,” Maggie Hicks and Halle Malle Mickelsen, Wheatland Middle School

Group Performance       

First – “Wichowayake,” Lily Anderson, Carly Robertson, and Haidyn Sisson, Wheatland Middle School

Second - “Title IX,” Rylee Donner, Lilly Jackson, and Caden Simianer, Upton Middle School

Group Websites              

First – “The Treaty of Versailles and the First World War: A Delve Into the German Disaster,” Shayne Cheatham and Lucian Hoffman, Greybull Middle School

Second - "Have You No Sense of Decency?" Karley Adams and Halle Huston, Wheatland Middle School

Third – “Matthew Shepard,” Kylie Benaski and Gatlin Good, Greybull Middle School

Individual Websites      

First - "I PLEDGE MYSELF - The Debate & Diplomacy of the Roosevelts,” Kaidyn Kasun, Wheatland Middle School

Second – “Oskar Schindler's Quest to Save Lives Through Diplomacy,” Alexa Johnston, Powell Middle School

Third – “Louisiana Purchase,” Tace Frank, Shoshoni Elementary School

Award Winners (Award Name, Project Title, Student Name(s), School Name)

Clara Jensen Award, “Nellie Tayloe Ross,” Natalie Gilbertson, Shoshoni Elementary

Oration Award, “Wichowayake,” Carly Robertson, Haidyn Sisson, and Lily Andesrson, Wheatland Middle School

William H. Barton Award, “Not A Drop To Spare,” Halle Mickelsen and Maggie Hicks, Wheatland Middle School